Energy Star certified homes program requirements

Program versions at a glance

Implementation Timeline

Program Requirements State/Territory Applicable to Homes Permitted On or After the Following Date
National Version 3 AL, AK, AZ, AR, CO, GA, IN, ID, KS, KY, LA, ME, MS, MO, NE, NH, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, UT, VA, WV, WI, WY 07/01/2012
Tropics Version 3 HI 07/01/2012
PR 04/01/2013
GU 04/01/2014
NMI, USVI 07/01/2016
National Version 3.1 MA 01/01/2015
DC, IL, MD, RI 04/01/2015 (except Calvert County and St. Mary's County in MD, for which the applicable permit date is on or after 07/01/2015)
IA 06/01/2015
DE 12/01/2015
MT 01/01/2016
MN, VT 04/01/2016
NV 10/01/2016
MI, NJ 04/01/2017
CT, NY 10/01/2017
TX 07/01/2018
Florida Version 3.1 FL 07/01/2012
California Version 3.2 CA 07/01/2018
Oregon and Washington Version 3.2 WA 07/01/2018
OR 04/01/2019