Step 5: Apply for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR

Designed to earn the ENERGY STAR logo

Both Portfolio Manager and Target Finder can calculate a 1 –100 ENERGY STAR score for eligible commercial new construction projects. This score rates the estimated energy use of your design against energy consumption of existing buildings nationwide, and normalizes for key characteristics such as size, function, and weather. For example, a score of 50 signifies that your design is comparable to the median energy performance.  A score of 75 indicates that your design project is intended to perform more efficiently than 75 percent of comparable buildings nationwide.

If your design receives a score of 75 or higher, it is eligible for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR. There is no fee to apply for and receive recognition from EPA. Not sure if your architecture firm should apply? Read 10 reasons you & your client will benefit from it and see who else has achieved Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR.

How to Apply for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR Recognition

The process listed below is for Commercial New Construction projects. For Multifamily high rise, see How to Apply for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR for requirements for this property type.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Your commercial new construction project meets the eligibility rules and requirements.
  • Your ENERGY STAR 1 – 100 design score is 75 or higher.
  • Your design project is saved in Portfolio Manager.

Application Process Overview

The Architect of Record (AOR):

  1. Completes the Statement of Energy Design Intent.
  2. Optionally, completes and submits a Design Profile to be posted on the ENERGY STAR website.
  3. Emails application documents to EPA.
  4. EPA notifies the AOR with application status.

Benefits for AOR firms joining the ENERGY STAR Partnership

EPA extends an invitation to all AOR firms to join the ENERGY STAR partnership for achieving Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR recognition. If you choose to join, you can take advantage of using the ENERGY STAR partner logo on marketing materials and be associated with the brand recognized by more than 90 % percent of American households.

You can sign up for the partnership once EPA approves your project application. Learn more and access the Partner Agreement for Service and Product Providers and click on Commercial New Construction SPP (Architecture Firms).

Is my project eligible for Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR recognition?

No matter what type of building you’re designing, you can follow these steps to ensure an energy-efficient building. However, to achieve Designed to Earn the ENERGY STAR recognition, your property type must be eligible to receive a 1 – 100 ENERGY STAR score. See a complete list of eligibility criteria for the 1 – 100 ENERGY STAR score.

Portfolio Manager

Log in to use Portfolio Manager or create a free account today!