U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Thursday, April 11, 2013

Energy Efficiency Tax Credits Available!

ENERGY STAR products meet strict guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and are independently certified to save energy without sacrificing features or functionality. Saving energy helps prevent climate change, but it will also help you save money, especially around tax time. Upgrade your equipment to ENERGY STAR models anytime this year and get credit on next year's tax return.

The ENERGY STAR label can be found on more than 65 different product categories, including appliances, electronics, lighting and heating and cooling equipment. Although some may cost more to purchase than standard models, they pay you back in lower energy bills, even without a tax credit. Federal tax credits available for some products make these savings even more significant.

What is Eligible?

ENERGY STAR products in the following categories are eligible for 10% of the products cost up to $500, or a specific amount from $50-$300. Products must be purchased for an existing home that is your primary residence. These tax credits expire December 31, 2013.

  • Air source heat pumps
  • Central air conditioners
  • Boilers
  • Furnaces
  • Insulation
  • Roofs
  • Non-solar water heaters
  • Windows and doors

ENERGY STAR certified geothermal heat pumps are eligible for 30% of the products cost with no upper limit. Products can be purchased for new or existing homes, and both primary residences and second homes may apply. This tax credit expires December 31, 2016.

For more detailed information, see the tax credits section of this website.